Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This article by Maria Popova over on Brain Pickings discusses and summarizes ideas from a book I cannot reccommend highly enough – Vagina: A Biography by Naomi Wolf.

As a young twenty-something emerging feminist, her incisive and polemic The Beauty Myth informed and shaped my intellectual and academic life; articulated clearly so many things I had observed and felt. This book has less of a “whack’ for me as a long-term practitioner of Tantra – something Wolf is just discovering in this book – but it insightfully links and co-relates many aspects of female sexual health and its relationship to creativity, productivity, and general ‘aliveness’ in women. In short – it discovers and maps the vagina-brain connection. And explores what happens when trauma occurs in a way I have never encountered before.

I haven’t been bloogging much of late – life and inner life do not seem to be pulling me towards the keyboard to write articles to share here. One of those reasons is because I myself often notice a complex interconnected link between, energy, creativity, sexual energy and focus. When one or two of these feels ungrounded or is affected in some way negatively by stress, over time it begins to affect other aspects of my life. Writing (everything excepting my journal entries) is often the first aspect to be obviously impacted. And I wonder how many other women can relate to this complex synergy of cause-and-effect.

So – if you haven’t read this book yet – please check this out – then get yourself the book to read the ideas in their entirety. Men out there who want to better understand women, and in particular have partners who have suffered sexual abuse or trauma in their past – read this to better support,  love and understand your woman. Read on …

The Science of Stress, Orgasm and Creativity: How the Brain and the Vagina Conspire in Consciousness | Brain Pickings.